How long do I have to file an age discrimination claim?
There are strict time limits in place for filing an age discrimination claim in California. This timeframe is known as the statute of limitations.
Employees are required to obtain a right-to-sue letter from the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) before they can file an age discrimination lawsuit. In general, you have one year from the date of the discriminatory incident in which to file a complaint with the DFEH. Effective January 1, 2020, the California State Legislature extended the time to file a complaint to 3 years. However, it is unclear whether the new 3-year time limit applies to discriminatory actions that occurred before January 1, 2020 or not. It is always a good idea to act quickly if you feel your employer discriminated, harassed or retaliated against you.
Your employment lawyer will usually help you obtain the right-to-sue letter. Once the DFEH issues the letter, you have one year to file a lawsuit.
If you suspect you have experienced unlawful age discrimination in the workplace, it is important to discuss your situation with a California employment law attorney as soon as possible. If you fail to meet the specified deadlines, you may lose your right to sue.
Other Age Discrimination FAQs:
- Are employers allowed to ask about age during job interviews?
- How can I prove age discrimination in the workplace?
- How can I prove age discrimination?
- How long do I have to file an age discrimination claim?
- What are some examples of age discrimination in the workplace?
- What are some signs of age discrimination at work?
- What is age discrimination?
- Who does the Age Discrimination in Employment Act protect?
FREE CASE REVIEW
When employees' legal rights are violated, we take time to explain their legal options, listen to their goals, and aggressively argue their case until we achieve the resolution they deserve.