California’s Pregnancy Disability Leave Law

California’s Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL) law allows pregnant women who are “disabled” during their pregnancy to take up to four months of leave from work.  The term, disabled, is a bit misleading because it includes any disability related to the woman’s pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical condition.

Further, even prior to taking time off, employer’s are also obligated to make reasonable accommodations for pregnant employees such as modifying work duties,  transferring the employee to a less strenuous position, or providing a modified work schedule.  An employer’s failure to accommodate the pregnant employee is only excusable where the employer can prove that the accommodation would be an undue burden.

To qualify for leave, the employee must be unable to perform one or more of her job functions because of the pregnancy or pregnancy-related conditions such as morning sickness or prenatal care.  An employee generally must request pregnancy disability leave at least 30 days’ prior to the need for leave.  However, if circumstances do not permit advance notice, the employee only need give notice as soon as practicable.  In response, an employer is permitted to request medical documentation supporting the employee’s need for leave.  The certification simply must show the date of disability, the anticipated amount of leave needed, and an explanation as to why the employee cannot work.

After the leave is complete, the employer must return to the employee to the same or to comparable position. Pregnancy leave must be treated the same as all other temporary disabilities so that policies that apply to non-pregnancy-related temporary disabilities must also apply to leave taken under the PDL.  For example, pregnant employees continue to accrue seniority, have a right to participate in health, retirement, and disability plans, and any other benefits provided to employees.

In addition to leave under the PDL, California employees who work for larger employers (those who employ 50 or more employees) are entitled to an additional 12 weeks of leave under CFRA.  In total, a pregnant employee may be able to maximize her leave to allow for nearly 7 months of job protected leave.

Read more

unpaid wage lawyer

Walgreens employees win $4.5M settlement in bag check lawsuit

Over the years, several California employers have been sued for not paying employees for time spent on bag checks before or after work. A judge recently approved a $4.5 million settlement in…

READ ARTICLE
overtime violation attorney

Oakland judge OKs $78M overtime settlement for air medical company workers

California medical flight crew employees sued their employer, a medical helicopter company, for missed breaks and overtime violations. Now, the employees are set to receive a $78 million settlement that amounts to…

READ ARTICLE
age discrimination lawyer

Using COVID-19 layoffs as a pretext for age discrimination is unlawful

The COVID-19 pandemic has created difficulties for businesses everywhere. More and more companies have resorted to layoffs to reduce their workforce in light of the economy’s downward spiral. Given the current situation,…

READ ARTICLE
age discrimination attorney

Fired executive accuses IMAX of replacing older workers with younger ones

California and federal laws protect employees from being fired or discriminated against for unlawful reasons, such as on the basis of their age, sex, disability, race or national origin. Employment violations can…

READ ARTICLE
SEEN ON
cnnmoney
marin-ij
dailypost
news10