When does my employer have to pay me my final wages upon termination or resignation?
Under California law, employees who are fired or laid off must be given their final paycheck immediately, on the same day as termination. The final payment includes all unpaid wages, unused vacation time and business expenses the worker is owed.
Employees who resign without providing notice must be paid their final paycheck within 72 hours of resignation. Employees who resign after giving notice of at least 72 hours are entitled to receive their final wages by their last workday.
Employers who fail to provide an employee with their final paycheck promptly may have to pay penalties for each day the wages remain unpaid. If you have not received the wages you are owed, speak to an experienced employment attorney.
Other Unpaid Wage & Overtime FAQs:
- Am I entitled to rest breaks?
- Are employers required to pay mileage reimbursements?
- Are employers required to reimburse employees for work expenses?
- Can my employer fire me for complaining about unpaid wages?
- Does my employer have to give me meal breaks?
- How long do I have to file a claim for unpaid overtime?
- How much do you get paid for overtime in California?
- Is wage theft a crime in California?
- My employer deducted tips from my paycheck. Is this legal?
- Should I be paid for off-the-clock work?
- What should I do if my employer doesn’t pay me the overtime wages I am owed?
- What should I do if my employer is not paying me my wages on time?
- What types of damages can I recover in a claim for unpaid wages?
- When does my employer have to pay me my final wages upon termination or resignation?
- When must commissions be paid in California?
- Why do I need a lawyer for my unpaid wages claim?
FREE CASE REVIEW
When employees' legal rights are violated, we take time to explain their legal options, listen to their goals, and aggressively argue their case until we achieve the resolution they deserve.